Spinal Mechanics

Copyright © John Bayliss - spinalmechanics.com  est 2005                                                                                                                                                   About us  -   Contact  -  Links

Book: Advanced Osteopathic Technique reviews


Amazon.com

5.0 out of 5 stars Paradigm Shift in the understanding of spinal dysfunction April 20, 2013

By ARUN  Medical Doctor  USA

John Bayliss's Advanced Osteopathic Technique represents a paradigm shift in the treatment of back pain and dysfunction.
Dr. Bayliss has painstakingly worked out the physiology of the human core support system in a way that allows an entirely new, gentle and highly effective method of treating spinal dysfunction.

The integrity of the entire system depends on proper sacro-iliac function and balance around its S/I pivoting point. Dr. Bayliss carefully explains in great detail how this influences the entire upright postural support system and the effectiveness of corrective interventions.

I have spent the considerable time and effort required to learn this material and have seen its remarkable effectiveness when intelligently applied in practice.

Like many of the great discoveries of science, these principles becomes "self evident" once they are clearly seen and understood. Great discoveries are rarely appreciated in their time. Dr. Bayliss is one of those pioneers, who I believe later generations will look back to as a giant in the field of health care.

Spinal and pelvic articulations are a dynamic set continually interacting and influencing each other such that when only one joint is adjusted in isolation the others will tend to pull it back into its former position in the whole. With Dr. Bayliss's PPT system it is possible to adjust the entire set of joints at one session allowing for a much more permanent realignment and balancing of the whole system and the dysfunctional elements within it.

I highly recommend Advanced Osteopathic Technique to those interested in gaining a deeper and more effective understanding and treatment of spinal dysfunction.
Arun Seeley, M.D.


Amazon.com

5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal Work, April 3, 2013

By Dr Adrian Hubbard (Osteopath) Australia  

Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

Advanced Osteopathic technique by Dr. John Bayliss represents a seminal text of Osteopathy and all manipulative therapy. Dr. Bayliss outlines a comprehensive review of spinal mechanics that is consistent in both the theory and practice. His explanation is meticulous and precise having gone to extraordinary lengths to document every aspect of the work that he presents. This book deserves to be on the desk of every manual therapist and referred to regularly. Beware, it is not for the casual observer. The level of detail presented can be overwhelming however it is worth persisting with.

There are many subsections within this book, including descriptions of normal spinal, rib and limb mechanics both at rest and with movement as well as explanation of various strain patterns, as well as offering a method of manipulation to unwind the lesions in the reverse order to which they occurred.

Since obtaining a copy of the second edition of this book, I have been incorporating PPT manipulation as an integral part of my practice and it has revolutionized the way I apply manipulation. The patient treatment experience is far more comfortable than it was using traditional manipulation techniques. This third edition is another step forward with improved explanations and updated techniques, particularly for cervical techniques.

I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading more practitioner reviews of this book.


Amazon.com

5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced Osteopathic Technique is a "must have" for any manual therapist treating spinal pain., March 29, 2013

By Sarah Labrecque  USA PT

Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

The author has added further clarification of spinal biomechanics and refined his already effective techniques still further in this new edition. For all professions who work with musculoskeletal pain this is a very valuable and practical guide for patient care. As a physical therapist working with chronic spinal pain of varying etiologies, this rationale of care is one of my most useful and effective strategies for helping these clients. Sarah Labrecque PT


Amazon.com

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent update!, March 28, 2013

By J. FELLA  USA  Massage Therapist
This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

I was happy to be a reviewer of the previous book when it came out a few years ago, and am excited to see the new manual on this updated technique. Let me say that I've been corresponding with the author since the previous book came out, and this has been aggressively researched since that time. He demanded perfection in his technique and has strived to update it accordingly. First off, I will mention that I'm reviewing this book based on my profession as a massage therapist of 20 years. My practice was primarily a structural-based one, where I was trained in standard American Osteopathic techniques (Phillip Greenman, etc) and the generally accepted theories of spinal motion. The technique I used was Muscle Energy Technique. I had incredible results for many years, but my only complaint was that some of the pelvic and sacral techniques were awkward and unwieldy to perform.

I then incorporated Jeffrey Maitland's techniques into my practice, which were more convenient and still very gentle, and gave me great results. Then I came across PPT and it threw most of my knowledge of spinal mechanics and manipulation out the window! I had to almost start over and re-learn everything as the model was so different. The author points out that there were certainly holes in some of the Laws Of Spinal Motion (Fryette) and that he believed he had explained all those things in his new model. Objectively speaking, our current laws of spinal motion are based largely on cadaver studies over 100 years old, so it's pretty safe to say they aren't completely accurate and need updating.

The first part of the book explains the complexities and theories of how exactly the spine moves and becomes dysfunctional. I won't lie to you, it is complex stuff and will be some time before I can fully wrap my head around it. But Bayliss is compelled to know and explain exactly how a spinal lesion occurs. I wish some of the explanations had a little summary or something at the end, after the technical explanation, so I could have an easy way to explain to a client how the problem occurred. He does explain that in parts (the section on rib/thoracic dysfunction upon reaching behind yourself for your seatbelt) but more than once I was left unclear what motion or action a person would be performing in real life that would correspond with the things he was describing. It will probably become clearer as I re-read it.

Fortunately the exact how's and why's aren't necessary to assess and treat the patients, and the second half of the book is very clear and concise for the most part. The assessment procedures aren't difficult but will require some study-time if you're used to the more traditional techniques. The treatment procedures are very straight-forward as well. The pictures and diagrams are excellent! Some techniques are completely new (the pelvis balancing/tractioning techniques) and some are modified but similar to the previous versions.

For chronic issues I'll be using this in conjunction with fascia release work. It's up to each of us to discover what is the "right" way to do things, or "our" way. Mr. Bayliss has given us a very powerful tool to accomplish that, either by itself or in conjunction with other soft-tissue techniques. And PPT will be a huge part of my tool-box for a very long time to come.

 

Amazon.co.uk

5.0 out of 5 stars A very complete book, 13 Mar 2013

By  Ivan Larrañaga -Osteopath Spain

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

This new book adds new concepts and completes the previous edition. The technique developed by J.R. Bayliss is soft, respectful with the patient and very effective. And this new book explains the bio-mechanical concepts of his technique of a very graphical way. Congratulation for the book.


Amazon.co.uk

5.0 out of 5 stars Even better, 13 Mar 2013

By  JS - Osteopath Australia

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

I meet with several osteopaths in Australia from time to time to work through John Bayliss' techniques, and to improve our ability to perform them. They are really amazing; John has done an incredible job of understanding the mechanics of the spine; for the first time, we have a model that makes sense. This new book is a great help. It's simpler to understand than the old material, and the techniques have been further improved. I'm looking forward to our next session, so we can take our knowledge further. I'd call this book essential reading for anyone who undertakes bony manipulation and would like to get better at it, with less trauma to the patient and the therapist.


Amazon.co.uk

5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced it is 4 Mar 2013

By J. P. Van Woude Osteopath Holland

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

In his book "advanced osteopathic technique" John Bayliss gives a new approach for understanding and treating osteopathic lesions. The book is well written and has a lot of colorful illustrations. That helps a lot to think out of the box along with John Bayliss. He not only explains osteopathic lesions of individual bones but also lesion patterns of the whole spine. He covers a lot of new theory and techniques and it is truly advanced!
I highly recommend this book.


Amazon.com

5.0 out of 5 stars Great working tool, February 22, 2013

By Massimiliano Corghi  Osteopath Spain

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

I've been using PPTs with my patients and I got incredible results.
The techniques are easy, very comfortable for the patients and above all very effective.
Wonderful working tool.
Keep up with the good work John!


Amazon.co.uk

5.0 out of 5 stars "Dig on...", 22 Feb 2013

By S.G. (Toronto, Canada) - Osteopath Canada

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

Mr. Bayliss, continues to challenge the status quo in his newest book that explores leveraging spinal mechanics to correct dysfunction.
Like all good osteopathic instruction, the techniques are simple and elegant and take a back seat to the complex principles through which they work. Hopefully this book will inspire more minds to dig onwards!
Thank you John.


Amazon.ca

5.0 out of 5 stars Take your practice to the next level, Feb 23 2013

Rob Osteo - Osteopath Canada

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - Ppt Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-Mechanics (Paperback)  

Not very often do we get to see the world of osteopathy advance forward like John Bayliss has done. He has created thru extensive research a new way to look, think and treat! This book is a must have for all manipulating practitioners wanting to further their skills and of course clinical results.


Amazon.com

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book!!! March 12, 2013

By Esteban Melendez MS, ATC/LAT, LMT, NASM PES-CES Body worker, America

This review is from: Advanced Osteopathic Technique - PPT Manipulation and Synergetic Bio-mechanics (Paperback)

I love Bodywork!!! John Bayliss made bodywork easier with his Passive Prone Techniques. I love how it explains everything without any difficulty understanding the terminology.
I have been a LMT/Body worker for seven years, and I love how synergetic techniques are the way to go.
It is just like the first videos and books. I cannot wait to perform more new techniques!




Book: The Theory of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation”

by J.R.Bayliss

A very interesting read. This book brings a new insight into the manipulative practices. The author has explained and illustrated the passive prone technique (PPT) and justified why and how this is so beneficial.

I myself have received treatment and have found this to be far superior to the existing treatment a chiropractor or osteopath would deliver. The treatment is truly noiseless and leaves you feeling more supple addressing the spinal structure in far more depth than I have ever received before.

I certainly recommend reading the book and practicing/ observing the tests detailed to enhance further understanding of how the body works and the relevance of using PPT.

I hope the author can be acknowledged and gain further exposure to progress with promoting this concept.

Amelia Ledingham BSc(Hons)SMEH


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation”

by J.R.Bayliss

I am indebted to a recent graduate of the Manipulative Therapy course who brought my attention to this book and DVD by John Bayliss.


The author, a practising Osteopath, found that a number of the accepted theories about spinal mechanics and osteopathic manipulation were, in his opinion, flawed and he has taken a fresh look at spinal mechanics and joint subluxation and how they work in everyday life in real people. He defines a subluxation as a partial or incomplete dislocation (Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary).


The purpose of manipulation is to align the musculoskeletal frame so that the patient stands erect, symmetrical and has as much mobility as possible.  To attain this, Bayliss describes in detail his examination techniques and then moves on to treatment, relaxing and stretching the muscles- a priority before manipulation as we know it.


He describes the treatment techniques which he has developed, a unique method known as PPT or Passive Prone Technique, in which patients are treated with a minimum of force, techniques which he claims leave only a small trauma foot print, causing no anxiety or pain to the patient.


The book and DVD are very well presented with illustrations and photographs (of which there are many) in full colour and which greatly assist the reader's understanding of the text.


Recommendation: a first-class book for Manipulative Therapists, which encompasses many ideas with which NI M students at this level will feel comfortable and will perhaps challenge the established practitioner to review and adopt PPT into their work.

Eddie Caldwell Director Northern Institute of Massage. UK



Book: The Theory of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation Edition 2


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation  Ed 2”

by J.R.Bayliss

This book is of great practical use for any clinician using manual techniques to treat spinal pain. It uses color coded, easy to follow diagrams through out to explain sacral and spinal mechanics, that are fully integrated and finally make sense of how a real living body actually moves. The passive prone technique is simple and easily applied to both acute and chronic spinal pain. Clients report excellent results even after the 1st treatment with no after treatment soreness, I wish I had discovered these techniques earlier in my career.

Sarah Labrecque  Physical Therapist.  USA


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation  Ed 2”

by J.R.Bayliss

I am happy to be the first reviewer for this book. I've been a massage therapist practicing muscle energy technique, deep tissue, etc for the last 15 years. I love spinal motion theory and have several books on it. This book challenges all the accepted laws of spinal motion (Fryette's Laws) and seeks to fill in the gaps or refute them altogether, to produce a more complete, logical sytem of assessment and treatment.

The author states simply that the accepted theories, upon which all spinal manipulative therapies have been based, are terribly flawed and/or incomplete. He says he went back to the beginning and studied the spine in detail, based on both detailed anatomy of the joints, and tests done on weight bearing subjects. He points out that most or all of the studies previously done on spinal motion were done on patients who were non weight-bearing or done on cadavers. Hence, it changes the way the spine moves. Most notably, his theory of spinal motion states that normal, physiological spinal motion is dependent on proper sacral mechanics.

I'll tell you right off that the detail he goes into is intense, and it goes beyond my head much of the time, and like I said, this stuff is usually right up my alley. So, given that many of us may have no way to say he's correct or incorrect in his theories, the proof is really in the pudding. Do the techniques work? They certainly have been for him. He said they work more profoundly and effortlessly than standard high velocity treatments which he's been doing the last 25 years. I myself haven't done the techniques yet, but am very anxious to try them.

His treatment approach is very simple compared to muscle energy techniques or HVT's. They are all done with the patient prone. There is no awkward positioning or detailed motion palpation to be done, which is very welcome! Based on his theories, the body is place prone in a slightly specified position so that the sacrum is in the proper position to allow the correction to take place further up the spine. A slight pressure is applied to the tranverse or spinous process, and the fixation melts away.

I don't know if these theories will revolutionize spinal manipulative therapy or not, but one thing is for sure: the guy has done his homework and come up with a therapy that works. I guess only time will tell, but I'm rating this book 5 stars because it's a rare scholarly work focused on results, and if that doesn't deserve 5 stars, nothing does.

J Fella. USA


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation  Ed 2”

by J.R.Bayliss

John's book and video are a must for all osteopaths and manual therapists. His book is clearly illustrated, demonstrating a new set of theories behind the mechanics of the spine. Treatment techniques are well illustrated and described, clearly showing the theory behind them. I have witnessed and experienced his approach, most of which is done in a "passive and prone position" with the lightest touch, resulting in remarkable changes in range of motion and symmetry. A truly exceptional approach and technique. Irene Phillips Osteopath

Irene Phillips  DO.  UK


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation  Ed 2”

by J.R.Bayliss

Having read the first edition I had found the theories and techniques fascinating. It is hard to believe these pioneering methods have not been integrated in student training.

The second edition explores the rib cage and shoulder girdle in detail which to my experience uses new methods to manipulate the whole body. It is very interesting to read how the rib cage and shoulder girdle play such a key role in spinal alignment and that there seems to be no other research which has investigated this in such detail.

The book is easy to read and uses everyday tasks and simple diagrams to provide the reader with a full understanding of the techniques and rationale behind it.

I sincerely urge more practitioners to read this book as it will enhance everyday treatment techniques.
Amelia Ledingham BSc(Hons)SMEH, MIIST Sports Therapist. UK


“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation  Ed 2”

by J.R.Bayliss

For the practicing clinician, this might be one of the most important books to be produced in a long while. It methodically and rationally challenges conventional spinal mechanical theory using straightforward thinking and real world applications. This manual breaks free from isolated segmental spinal theories and looks at spinal motion on a freely moving, living body. The theory of synergistic spinal mechanics can be of great use to all practitioners of the manual therapeutic arts; from the new graduate to the advanced practitioner. The simple application of the Passive Prone Technique will leave you wishing you had come across it much sooner.

Sam Gibbs, CAT(C), MT, DOMP  Osteopath. Canada

“The Theory and of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation  Ed 2”

by J.R.Bayliss

As I have benefited from the author's Passive Prone Technique (PPT) in dealing with back and neck problems, and because of my engineering background, albeit structural/civil engineering, my interest was aroused in the mechanics involved. I have found the book and the techniques detailed therein most fascinating. The arguments are clearly presented, the logic is impeccable and the drawing techniques manage very well in translating three-dimensional structure and movement to the flat page. Although I am not a health professional myself I feel sure that the author's methods will greatly improve the effectiveness of practitioners in this field and at the same time make the patient's experience during treatment much less stressful than the older-established techniques.
Anthony Graham Day. UK



DVD:Osteopathic Manipulation - Passive Prone Technique - by J.R.Bayliss DO


“Osteopathic Manipulation - Passive Prone Technique” by J.R.Bayliss DO

The theory of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics represents the culmination of years of clinical observation, study and research by John Bayliss DO. This new material explains spinal and skeletal mechanics in a holistic way that respects the physical laws and principles of the body. The simple treatment approach is invaluable, and I'm sure you, and your patients, will find the results nothing short of remarkable.

Sam Gibbs, CAT(C), MT, DOMP  Osteopath. Canada


“Osteopathic Manipulation - Passive Prone Technique” by J.R.Bayliss DO

I was first introduced to John Bayliss’s work in 2008 by another colleague. I ordered his book “The Theory of Synergetic Spinal Mechanics and PPT Manipulation” and his DVD “Spinal Mechanics and Bony Locking” and found his understanding of pelvic, sacral and spinal mechanics comprehensive, original and refreshing. I immediately invited John Bayliss to my clinic in Sarasota Florida USA in 2009 to share his work with an international group of osteopaths from Europe, Canada and Hong Kong and an Medical Doctor from USA. We were amazed at the results during the treatment sessions and how easy it was to perform his PPT manipulation. That weekend was the genesis of him developing his new DVD “Osteopathic Manipulation, Passive Prone Technique, A Practical Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment” which explains how to apply his bio-mechanical knowledge in a clinical setting.  I recommend all three of his products. The Book and first DVD explain the bio-mechanical principles behind the PPT manipulation and his new DVD explain how to perform the PPT manipulation in the clinical setting. PPT manipulation is a very gentle, comprehensive and effective means of treatment. Your patients will benefit greatly from this work.

Dr. Kerry D’Ambrogio D.O.M., A.P., D.O.-M.T.P., P.T Doctor of Oriental Medicine, Osteopath, Physical Therapist, Founder of Therapeutic Systems Incorporated. USA

 

“Osteopathic Manipulation - Passive Prone Technique” by J.R.Bayliss DO

I've enjoyed implementing some PPT in practice. I have particularly liked the clavicular techniques and SIJ techniques, they invariably give instantaneous results! I haven't been able to get such effortless shoulder joint range of motion improvement before!

Dr Adrian Hubbard   B.App.Sc (Clin.Sc.),M.H.Sc.(Osteo). Australia


Reviews of the Books and DVD’s John Bayliss has Published

Back to top